National Wheat Foundation Announces New Officer Team

March 15, 2022

The National Wheat Foundation welcomes Joe Kejr as its new Chair. Joe farms with his son, brother and nephew west of Salina, Kansas where they raise wheat, corn, soybeans and milo. Joe has found that raising high quality wheat and segregating it has created more profitability for their farm. Joe has been President of the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers and served as a legislator on the Kansas House of Representatives for three terms. 

Bernard Peterson was elected as Vice Chair. Bernard is a managing partner in Peterson Farms, a multi-generational grain operation in central Kentucky. The majority of their wheat production is used in the local bourbon industry. They also raise soybeans and corn and operate Loretto Grain. Bernard also served as President of his state Growers’ Association in Kentucky. 

Scott Brown was elected as Secretary/Treasurer. Scott farms in southern Idaho with his son-in-law and nephew, where they raise wheat, barley and mustard. Scott is a CPA and has a master’s degree in accounting from Brigham Young University. Scott was President of the Idaho Grain Producers Association as well as President of the National Barley Growers Association. 

The National Wheat Foundation appreciates the service of outgoing Chair, David Cleavinger from Amarillo, Texas, and outgoing board member Randy Marten, who both offered excellent leadership to the board.

Our officers are leading the Foundation into bigger and broader roles in research, education and outreach for the wheat industry. The National Wheat Yield Contest is one of our more prominent projects, but the Foundation is now working on high yield, high quality, higher profit and nutrition through new, upcoming wheat programs. 

“These are exciting times for the Foundation and Joe, Bernard and Scott will be great assets to the Foundation. Wheat growers should appreciate them using their time, talents, and experience to improve the wheat industry”, Chandler Goule, Executive Director of the National Wheat Foundation.

Source: National Wheat Foundation