National Wheat Yield Contest Winners Announced for 2020

November 17, 2020

The National Wheat Foundation’s National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the United States and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques. And the NWF has announced the national winners for the 2020 National Wheat Yield Contest.

“This year the Foundation is awarding four Bin Buster winners, one from each of the four categories: Winter Wheat Dryland and Irrigated and Spring Wheat Dryland and Irrigated,” stated Foundation Board President David Cleavinger. “COVID-19 created many setbacks for growers across the country. It is exciting to see that it did not prevent wheat farmers from participating in this year’s Contest.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated.

“NWF would like to thank each grower for enrolling in the NWYC and thank our sponsors for helping to make the Contest available to wheat growers in the United States. Entries for the Contest continue to be on an uphill trend, and this year we received a record-breaking 418 total entries, up from 397 last year,” continued Cleavinger.

This year’s National winners per category*:

Bin Buster Winners

Bruce Ruddenklau

Field Location: Amity, OR

Variety/Variety Name: OSU Rosalyn

Category: Winter Wheat – Dryland

Final Yield: 191.17 Bu/A 

Derek Friehe

Field Location: Moses Lake, WA

Variety/Variety Name: Limagrain Jet

Category: Winter Wheat - Irrigated

Final Yield: 206.70 Bu/A 

Trevor Stout

Field Location: Genesee, ID

Variety/Variety Name: WestBred WB9303

Category: Spring Wheat – Dryland

Final Yield: 139.22 Bu/A

Terry Wilcox

Field Location: Rexburg, ID

Variety/Variety Name: WestBred WB9668

Category: Spring Wheat – Irrigated

Final Yield: 172.60 Bu/A

Source: National Wheat Foundation